In 2018, BADA implemented a long-planned restructuring of its governance designed to bring the Academy’s oversight into line with modern practices and to ensure that the Academy is well positioned to continue to offer unparalleled classical theatre training. As a result of the restructuring, the serving Board of Governors retired. Four of their number were appointed to serve as Trustees going forward and several new Trustees were recruited and recently began their terms of service to BADA.

Following the initial restructuring, the Trustees were:

Marcus Boyle (Chair)
Louise Chantal
Christopher Cook
Diane Gelon
Maggie Whitlum (Vice Chair)

In April 2019, three new Trustees were appointed following an extensive search for professionals with expertise in governance, international education, and other relevant areas:

Topher Campbell his 20+ year career spans broadcasting, theatre, performance, writing, experimental film and site-specific work
Ruth Hogarth – an independent arts and culture consultant with a background in theatre, international broadcasting and higher education
Melanie Whittaker – a senior program officer in German Marshall Fund of the United States’ Berlin office, with expertise in fundraising, leadership assessment, diversity and inclusion, public diplomacy, transatlantic relations, and German politics

BADA is incredibly grateful to the retired Governors for their years of work and dedication to helping BADA grow into the leading training institution it is today. These Governors have agreed to continue to serve and support BADA as members of the newly-formed BADA Council:

Margot Harley
Patti Boulaye OBE
Deirdre Simpson
Simon Stokes
Penny Wesson

To learn more about our newly appointed Trustees, please visit the new page on our website.